Final Fantasy Guitar Collection

  1. Prelude (Final Fantasy Series)

  2. Prologue (Final Fantasy Series)

  3. Town (Final Fantasy)

  4. Chaos Temple (Final Fantasy)

  5. Town (Final Fantasy II)

  6. Rebel Army Theme (Final Fantasy II)

  7. Elia, the Maiden of Water (Final Fantasy III)

  8. The Dark Crystals (Final Fantasy III)

  9. Theme of Love (Final Fantasy IV)

  10. Rydia’s Theme (Final Fantasy IV)

  11. Chocobo Theme (Final Fantasy Series)

  12. Lenna's Theme (Final Fantasy V)

  13. Dear Friends (Final Fantasy V)

  14. The Day Will Come (Final Fantasy V)

  15. Terra’s Theme (Final Fantasy VI)

  16. Searching for Friends (Final Fantasy VI)

  17. Main Theme (Final Fantasy VII)

  18. Tifa’s Theme (Final Fantasy VII)

  19. Aerith's Theme (Final Fantasy VII)

  20. Those Who Fight (Final Fantasy VII)

  21. Victory Fanfare (Final Fantasy VII)

  22. Ahead on Our Way (Final Fantasy VII)

  23. Cosmo Canyon (Final Fantasy VII)

  24. Jessie’s Theme (Final Fantasy VII Remake)

  25. Hollow (Final Fantasy VII Remake)

  26. Balamb Garden (Final Fantasy VIII)

  27. Breezy (Final Fantasy VIII)

  28. Fisherman's Horizon (Final Fantasy VIII)

  29. Eyes on Me (Final Fantasy VIII)

  30. The Place I'll Return to Someday (Final Fantasy IX)

  31. Frontier Village Dali (Final Fantasy IX)

  32. Vamo' Alla Flamenco (Final Fantasy IX)

  33. Rose of May (Final Fantasy IX)

  34. Melodies of Life (Final Fantasy IX)

  35. To Zanarkand (Final Fantasy X)

  36. Hymn of the Fayth (Final Fantasy X)

  37. Via Purifico (Final Fantasy X)

  38. Suteki Da Ne (Final Fantasy X)

  39. Eternity: Memory of Lightwaves (Final Fantasy X-2)

  40. Streets of Rabanastre (Final Fantasy XII)

  41. Kiss Me Good-Bye (Final Fantasy XII)

  42. The Promise (Final Fantasy XIII)

  43. Lightning’s Theme (Final Fantasy XIII)

  44. Memories (Final Fantasy XIII-2)

  45. Somnus (Final Fantasy XV)

  46. Valse di Fantastica (Final Fantasy XV)

         26 Ricercari by Vincenzo Galilei are arranged for guitar and performed by John Oeth on his album Fronimo. Vincenzo Galilei was an Italian lutenist, music theorist, composer, and father of the famed astronomer and physicist Galileo Galilei. In 1568, Vincenzo Galilei wrote Fronimo Dialogo, a method book for playing, composing, and intabulating (arranging) vocal music for the lute. The text is a conversational lesson between an imaginary lutenist named Fronimo ("sage" in ancient Greek) and his student Eumatio (Italian for "he who learns well"). Eumatio primarily asks questions, and Fronimo answers and plays the lute, with the printed music serving as the music played. Galilei provides musical examples throughout to illustrate how he believes compositions should be structured and how intabulations should be made. The 1568 edition of Fronimo Dialogo contains a large amount of music, with over 200 pieces including original compositions and arrangements of vocal works by various composers. Galilei made revisions with a new anthology in the 1584 edition.

         Midway through the 1584 edition of Fronimo Dialogo, Galilei presents 26 Ricercari to demonstrate the sound of each mode. A mode is a type of musical scale with characteristic sound. Modes during this era had both authentic and its related plagal forms (indicated with the prefix "hypo").

         There are twelve ricercari in b duro (B-natural), twelve in b molle (B-flat), and two additional ricercari. Like much of the music in Fronimo Dialogo, Galilei's wrote his 26 Ricercari in Italian lute tablature. They are short, chordal studies with occasional scale passages, written in a chorale style, often with four independent voices.

         John Oeth's arrangement of 26 Ricercari for guitar will be published by Les Productions d'OZ in late 2019. These pieces are essential to contemporary players as they give guitarists a brief idea of each mode's sound and mood. Having the music in modern notation not only allows players of other instruments to perform the work, but it also lets performers see functional aspects of the music such as pitch relationships, voicing, and harmonic structure.

©2019 John Oeth

Album art by Vaughn Oeth

John proudly uses Augustine guitar strings.