Francia y Argentina | Oeth-Nuñez Duo

Suite Buenos Aires 

1. I.  Pompeya 

2. II. Palermo

Maximo Diego Pujol


3. La fille aux cheveux de lin (The Girl with the Flaxen Hair) 

Claude Debussy


4. Pièce en forme de Habanera

Maurice Ravel


5. Entr'acte

Jacques Ibert


6. Pavane 

Gabriel Fauré 


Trois Pièces 

7. I.   Cappriccioso, fantastico

8. II.  Calme

9. III. Allegro vivo

Eugène Bozza 

The first two tracks come from the four movement Suite Buenos Aires by Maximo Diego Pujol. Each movement is a location in Buenos Aires, Argentina that is illustrated through tango. Pompeya where many of the first tangos originated.  Palermo is the largest neighborhood in Argentina.  


La fille aux cheveux de lin (The Girl with the Flaxen Hair) by Claude Debussy is originally a piano prelude.  It is slow and simple but very emotional.  


Pièce en forme de Habanera by Maurice Ravel was originally a Vocalise-étude.  A habanera is a relaxed, slow Cuban dance.  The guitar has the habanera rhythm, while the flute (voice) has its enchanting melody.


Entr'acte by Jacques Ibert is originally incidental music for a French production of Pedro Calderón's El médico de su honra.  The intermission, or entr'acte, was taken and arranged for flute and guitar.  The music is inspired by Spanish and flamenco music.


Pavane, Op. 50 by Gabriel Fauré is originally for piano but is most known for its orchestral arrangement.  A pavane is traditionally a slow processional dance, but Fauré intended for a brisker tempo.


Trois Pièces by Eugène Bozza is an illustrative work that, like Entr'acte, is Spanish-sounding music by a French composer.  The first movement is at a moderate tempo with constantly changing textures.  It ends with a foreshadowed theme of the next movement.  The middle movement is slow and calm and ellaborates the theme throughout.  The last movement is fast, virtuosic, and unrelenting.  It features the characteristically flamenco guitar technique, rasgueado.


Francia y Argentina was recorded late July 2013 and released in August 2013.



Apple Music